Learn more about EEMs.

PDF versionPDF version


Almost anyone who has satisfactory credit, enough cash to close the loan, and sufficient steady income to make monthly mortgage payments can be approved for a FHA-insured EEM loan. There is no upper age limit and no certain income level required. The following types of properties are eligible under the EEM program:

• New construction
• Existing one- to four-unit single-family residences:
      • Detached houses
      • Townhouses
      • Condominiums (certain restrictions apply)


Energy improvements that are available under an EEM loan:

  • Appliances: Stoves and dishwashers
  • Windows and doors
  • Furnaces, Air conditioners, and Heat Pumps
  • Insulation: attics, walls, floors, and crawlspaces
  • Water heaters
  • Air infiltration sealing
  • Air duct sealing
  • Lighting retrofits
  • Fixing or replacing a chimney
  • Installing active and passive solar technologies
  • Installing a programmable thermostat
  • Installing energy monitors
  • And more!!!